Fall 2011 Line Up!


Right, it’s time to do this line-up post for the fall season for 2011. As I look at the list of anime being aired, it’s got a number of sequels and remakes, along with quite a large number of original shows. Also, I’ve got InstraClassic back on the site. 2 seasons ago, he provided his first impressions on IS: Infinite Stratos.

As usual, I’ll start with whatever shows that are being covered on the site, then the shows I am personally watching, and then the shows I am checking out.

Blogging

Fate/Zero

Fate/Zero
Being Covered By: InstraClassic
Episodes: 25
Studio: ufotable
Hashtags: #fatezero, #fate_zero
Premiere Date: October 1st 2011

InstraClassic has decided to provide coverage on one of the shows that pretty much EVERYONE is looking forward to. What’s not to look forward to, with animation being handled by ufotable, story written by recently popular Gen Urobuchi, and music by Yuki Kaijura. The only thing I’m personally keeping an eye on is the show’s direction, handled by Ei Aoki. This is an adaption of the light novel of the same game, which serves as a prequel to the Fate visual novel games by TYPE-MOON. Now, I’m a fan of the Fate series, but I haven’t played the VNs and such. I’ve mainly watched the Fate/stay night anime and played most of the game Fate games that come out (Fate/Extra, Fate/Unlimited Codes). The story of Fate/Zero takes place 10 years before the events of Fate/stay night.

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon
Being Covered By: InstraClassic
Episodes: 12
Studio: Sunrise
Hashtags: #kyoukaisen
Premiere Date: October 1st 2011

Not exactly a show I would choose to cover, but InstraClassic has also decided to provide coverage of this show. Personally it’s not a show I’m keen on watching, but I guess it won’t hurt to say a few words. The show’s English name is “Horizon on the Middle of Nowhere”. It is an adaption of the light novel. Providing the music is Tatsuya Katou, who provided the soundtrack for the Seikon no Qwaser series and the recent Hyakkaryouran: Samurai Girls anime. Notable voice talent include Jun Fukuyama, Aoi Yuuki, Chiwa Saito, Daisuke Ono and Jouji Nakata. KyoukaiSen (the short name I’m giving it now) takes place somewhere in a future feudal Japan where land is seperated into two terrorites, but are both conquered by foreign countries. Aim of the game? Join the war, and defend the land and win the war. The show also has a HUGE cast, which can be seen on the show’s website. Not only that, but the show seems to promise a fair amount of action and…big boobed girls, according to the PV.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukanai!

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai!
Being Covered By: InstraClassic
Episodes: 12
Studio: AIC Build
Hashtags: #haganai #bokutomo
Premiere Date: October 6th 2011

AIC Build animated OreImo. Do you remember that? AIC Build will be animating Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai! which translates as something like “I Don’t Have Any Friends”. Another adaptation from a light novel which follows a TRANSFER STUDENT who hasn’t had much luck in making friends. The dude’s a nice guy, but his INTIMIDATING APPEARANCE makes his classmates think he’s a violent bastard and spread rumours about the school about him. MY, MY, MY, WHERE HAVE I SEEN THIS BEFORE. Note that all the main characters apart from the main protaganist are FEMALE (apart from that Yukimura dude who looks like a chick). Scamp over at The Cart Driver, made a very accurate prediction as to what this show would be like. But hey, InstraClassic covering this, because MAYYYBEEE it’ll impress.

Guilty Crown

Guilty Crown
Being Covered By: McTricky
Episodes: 22
Studio: Production I.G
Hashtags: #guiltycrown #guilty_crown
Premiere Date: October 13th 2011

WAAAAHHHHHHH! Guilty Crown is gonna be 2 cour? On the noitaminA timeslot? I guess it makes sense since I’ve heard nothing of the second show that will be on noitaminA’s timeslot during the Winter season. Thing is, I generally don’t like covering 2 cour shows, but I do like covering original shows. And Guilty Crown does show promise, so I’m making an exception here. Anyway, Guilty Crown is an original show by Production I.G. It’s directed by Tetsuro Araki, the man responsible for directing Death Note and Highschool of the Dead, series composition being done by Hiroyuki Yoshino and Ichiro Okouchi, responsible for their writing work on Code Geass. Music is being produced by Ryo from Supercell and Hiroyuki Sawano, the latter of which provided music for Ao no Exorcist. WE HAVE A SHOW HERE GUYS. Based on the staff alone, I am pumped. The anime takes place in future Japan in the year 2039, which is under the control of an organization called GHQ, after the “Lost Christmas” virus broke out. The show follows Shuu Ouma, a 17 year old dude who has the psychic ability in his right hand (*cough*majustunoindex*cough* to extract weapons and tools from his friends. He then meets a female resistance member called Inori Yuzuriha, and together with the resitance they fight against the government. The premise ALREADY sound similar to Code Geass, but that’s to be expected really.

Watching

Persona 4: The Animation
Episodes: 24-26
Studio: AIC A.S.T.A
Hashtags: #persona4anime #p4_a
Premiere Date: October 6th 2011

Of course I’m watching this. The only thing is that the words video game + adaption = trouble these days, so really I’m watching to see how Seiji Kishi handles the direction of this. That Persona 3 anime was bad. Like, really bad. Also, people need to stop cring that they changed the protaganist’s name. Big fucking deal. No one kept his name as Seta Souji when they played the game.

I did a little research on this title and I concluded that this show would be a shounen version of Professor Layton. The show is an original anime, that deals with people with ridiculous hair. The show deals with Kaito Daimon who’s an enthusiast about puzzles. After him and his friend Nonoha decided to give an attempt at cracking the Philosopher’s Puzzle under the school in some ruins, Kaito is chosen to become a Phi-Brain and must solve puzzles surrounding the Philosopher’s Puzzle. The premise seems interesting, and I’ll definitely be checking this out to see where they go with this. I’d be blogging this, but I don’t wanting be blogging two 2-cour shows at once.

Shakugan no Shana III (Final)
Episodes: 12
Studio: J.C Staff
Hashtags: #shakugan #shakugannoshana #shakuganIII #shakugan3
Premiere Date: October 7th 2011

Shakugan no Shana. Final season. I AM READY. That is all.

BEN-TO
Episodes: 12
Studio: David Production
Hashtags: #bento #ben_to
Premiere Date: October 8th 2011

I need a comedy this season, and I have chosen to BEN-TO to provide me with some lulz this season. I’ve never heard of the anime company, but I’ve taken a look at the PV and it does seem rather interesting. It’s like Supermarket Sweep meets MasterChef meets a brawl fight. Awesome.

Mirai Nikki
Episodes: 26
Studio: asread
Hashtags: #mirainikki #mirai_nikki
Premiere Date: October 9th 2011

With the OAV that came out ages ago serving little more as a tease for what’s to come, I was glad that an anime adaption was green-lit. Not to excited about asread being in charge, though. It’s a about Yukiteru Amano who gets a special phone-diary that can predicted the future, and with this he’s entered into a sort of game, with 11 other contestants. Aim of the game? Kill each other, and survive.

Checking Out

  • C3 CubedxCursedxCurious
  • UN-GO
As you might have noticed, I’m only blogging one show this season, Guilty Crown. InstraClassic intends to take on the other 3. I’m starting university in two weeks, so I wanna see how much my workload will be and adapt to university life.
About McTricky

I'm Jeremiah George. Mostly known as McTricky online, and various places. Music, video games, anime, manga, piano. Those are my kinda stuff.

Posted on September 21, 2011, in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Personally, I wish Mirai Nikki came out with a trailer…but I’m hoping it’s a solid show this Fall. And yeah, Ben-To might provide you with what you need. Might!

  2. Fate/Zero is gonna have 25 not 12 😛

  1. Pingback: This Genius’s Compendium For The 2011 Fall Anime Season | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

