Blood-C 01 – Sweet Peanuts [First Impressions]


I'm loving the black and red.

Saya, our main protagonist.

I’m not even joking. “Sweet Peanuts” was what Google Translate had for “あまつかせ”, the actual name for the episode. Obviously I don’t believe that’s what the title name translates to. Blood-C is an original project that is related to (but not a sequel of) the other Blood titles. It’s a collaboration between Production I.G and CLAMP (hence the -C, making it Blood-CLAMP). The pre-air was out on Nico Nico the other day, and I decided to have a first look at it and give my first impressions.

"LALA THE SUN IS SHINING. THE WEATHER IS SO NICE. LALALA."

"LALA THE SUN IS SHINING. THE WEATHER IS SO NICE. LALALA."

First Impressions

Blood-C may very well be taken off my Watching list. I watched the pre-air a few days ago, and well…I wasn’t really impressed. I don’t mind CLAMP most of the time, but the characters designs don’t look really nice to me. The animation wasn’t all that good either. (inb4 “you were watching a low quality stream-rip”).

First, let me clarify. I’ve not watched anything Blood related until now. This Blood-C show would be my first interaction with the franchise. The first episode did a horrible job of explaining anything. Most of the episode dealt with Saya, an upbeat girl who is a klutz trying to obtain some sort of light, and then going to school. And oh my, that scene when she was singing whilst going to school. I swear that was a complete was of a minute or two. Oh, and then there’s those twins. I tend not to like twins in anime or video games. There are exceptions like Palom and Porom from Final Fantasy IV. They weren’t annoying. These twins are. Speaking at the same time like that all the time gets rather annoying. And then there’s that shady looking guy who keeps giving Saya the evils. A bit of foreshadowing there which will obviously be explained in later episodes, because it wasn’t even touched upon in this one.

And then Saya goes home, and then she’s given a sword called the Goshintou. And that’s when she turns from an upbeat klutz to a woman of SRS BSNS. The fight scene had no words. Just a fight against this morphing golem thing. I enjoy fights scenes with good choreography, and this fight scene wasn’t that bad in that department. Just animated quite poorly.

KILLING IS SO MUCH FUN

KILLING IS SO MUCH FUN

I realize I’m being really harsh here, but I note that I’m not hating on the entire show, but I’m just hating on this first episode. I’m going to give it until Episode 2 for it to change my mind or it is being dropped.

About McTricky

I'm Jeremiah George. Mostly known as McTricky online, and various places. Music, video games, anime, manga, piano. Those are my kinda stuff.

Posted on July 4, 2011, in Anime, Blood-C and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

