[C] CONTROL: The Money of Soul & Possibility 01 – Complication


CONTROL - The Money of Soul and Possibility

「Complication」

Whilst I was wasting my time doing that Denpa Onna image post, and watching Britain’s Got Talent, I also just found out that an old friend of mine passed away from cancer this morning, so I really don’t even wanna write this post right now, but I’ma do it anyway. Right, so an orignal anime, that has the theme of money, financial troubles, potential gambling, and risks. Not a concept you see everyday in anime, so that’s why I decided to cover this show. I watch this episode RAW first. I haven’t watched a RAW since Umineko no Naku Koro ni. NOTE: The majority of this post was written under the nyan.


「マトリョーシカ」 (Matryoshka)
by NICO Touches the Walls

I like this opening ever since I heard it a couple of weeks back when it was released to be heard on the show’s website. Never heard of NICO Touches the Walls until now, so I might be checking out some of their stuff from now on. As for the visuals, I found it interesting when we went inside the dollar bill and saw a plane drop bombs from the sky, a group of soldiers, a bunch of farmers and then a sillhouette of what might be Barrack Obama. Too bad the £50 note didn’t get an insight.

Seems like a battle.

The Prelude

Right, so the show opens up with some middle aged guy desperately trying to draw out some money from his bank account, only to find that he has no money/can’t do so. So then he brings out a certain card. This card appears to be a very special card. As he puts the card in, we get an English-speaking voice asking him about his PIN code which happens to be “666”. Later on, he’s whisked away into another realm called the Financial District, Back To The Future style. We then meet two characters who appear to be integral to the show. One is Mikuni Souichirou and the other is Q. The former goes off to face his opponent who happens to be the middle aged guy from before. I don’t know what was going on, but they both summon a beast from their special card. Mikuni summons a goat butler that reminded me a lot of the ones from Umineko, and the other guy summons some sort of wasp monster. With the unnamed dude being the inexperienced one, he loses. And soon after he commits suicide. Seeing this sort of credit/debit card battle reminded me of Yu-gi-oh! somewhat. Quite strange, but something I believe I will grow to like. Fighting, to win/earn money that apparently can only be spent in the Financial District?

Business is slow as usual.

Kimimaro Makes A Deal With The Devil

The main protaganist of our little financial story is Kimimaro, who’s an economics student. My guy here is an extremely hard-working 19 year old man. We don’t get a lot of 19 year old protaganists in anime, do we? He’s a very hard-working person who has two jobs but has no girlfriend to say: “I DO NOT NEED THIS OKAY, MY MAN HAS TWO JOBS!” Speaking of girlfriends, the would-be girlfriend Hinabi is a really close friend of his and frequently helps him out with his busy schedule such as helping pass his exams. However, she has a boyfriend, something I didn’t see coming. But I fathom that her relationship with that guy probably won’t last for too long, since Kimimaro clearly likes the girl and as far as anime shows go, if there’s a love interest, the main protaganist always gets the girl (unless of course it’s Bleach or Naruto). Later on, we meet Masakaki, who’s like a mix between the Mad Hatter, Willy Wonker and Kyubey the frickin’ Joker in terms of character design and personality. He’s prepared to make Kimimaro a deal in which he can become an entrepreneur in exchange for his future. I was surprised at how calm Kimimaro took everything, from Masakaki taking his apartment into a weird dimensional space, to him disappearing and appearing everywhere. The next day, Kimimaro finds about 500,000 yen in his bank account, which I assume is supposed to be some sort of bait or advance for Kimimaro to take. I mean, really. He actually goes around asking about what he should do with the money, because it might have been an accounting error. I would have taken it. It’s money. Any person would have taken it, and it’s by doing this is what leads Kimimaro into the deal with the devil. With money, he could go out with the girl he likes, Minabi, since the boyfriend she has is rich, whereas Kimimaro isn’t, even though he’s working TWO JOBS. Soon, Kimimaro is whisked away into the Financial District, and then we get to see a glimpse of another fairy-looking character.

I want this made into a wallpaper, kthnx.

Initial Thoughts

I think the concept of this show is rather interesting. I haven’t seen too many shows from Tatsunoko. And given this is an original show, I’m rather like the aspect of it. The music is by Taku Iwasaki which explains why I’m loving the soundtrack, or at least what I’ve heard of it already. The concept of battling each other with special credit/debit cards is interesting, even though it slightly seems like Yu-gi-Oh only it doesn’t revolve around card games, but instead money, probably referencing the fact about how the world was in reccession and the economy was falling and BLAH BLAH BLAH. Fitting, since Kimimaro is an economics student.


「RPG」
by School Food Punishment

I like the opening, I like the style of the song overall, especially the verse. As much to be expected from School Food Punishment.

An image that appears for a split second in the ED that I managed to screencap.

I like the opening, I like the style of the song overall, especially the verse. As much to be expected from School Food Punishment.

About McTricky

I'm Jeremiah George. Mostly known as McTricky online, and various places. Music, video games, anime, manga, piano. Those are my kinda stuff.

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Anime, [C] The Money of Soul and Possibility Control. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow great stuff here you can really feel for this show since it’s almost as close to real world issues.

    Not to crazy about the character designs however I can overlook that if the story is amazing or addictive 😛

    • The character designs don’t really matter to me, though Q and Masakaki looks like total bosses.

      The concept of this show is what’s really grabbing my attention. I’m hoping that they go a good direction with this.

Leave a Reply

